Black Horse Hill Infant School

Terms of Reference - Learning and Achievement Committee

Membership	a)	The committee shall consist of not less than four named governors plus the Headteacher (if not a governor) or his/her representative if the Governing Body agree to such an invitation.
	b)	The committee shall have such co-opted non-voting members as decided by the governing body. The committee may make recommendations for these appointments.
Quorum	The que	orum shall be three governors plus the Headteacher.
Meetings	The committee shall meet once per term and otherwise as required.	
Terms of Reference	1)	To offer a standing invitation to any members of the Governing Body to attend Learning and Achievement Committee meetings as their interests determine.
	2)	To consider school policy on any matters relating to the school curriculum: to recommend new policy and any amendments to existing policies to the Governing Body.
	3)	To receive reports from the Headteacher or appropriate member of staff on any matters relating to the organisation and content of the school curriculum.
	4)	To ensure that the curriculum policies meet the needs of all pupils and that where necessary equipment and resources are modified for pupils' needs: This would be in relation to: SEND Code of Practice (2014) Equality Act 2010
	5)	To review the Equality Policy and Accessibility Plan.
	6)	To consider any local or national reports affecting the curriculum, identifying any implications for school policy and practice.
	7)	To review the information about school performance required to be published.
	8)	To monitor the progress of SEND and Pupil Premium children
	9)	To hold the school to account for the impact of Pupil Premium Funding on outcomes for pupils.
	10)	To make recommendations to the Finance and Personnel Committee on resource levels for curriculum implementation.
	11)	To recommend to the full Governing Body for approval statutory targets for pupils' performance.
	12)	Governors should try to see the school in action at least once a year especially the English, Mathematics, Computing and SEND Governors.